"SHADES OF CRYSTAL" ALBUM REVIEW

 Tom Wardle, Country DJ - HONKY TONKS & HEARTACHES RADIO - August 26, 2019 

Hi Tracey……Well, you’ve done it again!  What a terrific CD……boy, your voice is just outstanding.  Ya still got it, girl!!  :)  You have a real nice selection of songs and some great production to go along with it.  Really, really nice!  A tune that really ’grabs’ me is “Til I Gain Control Again"…..I’ve always liked it and you certainly do it justice…….some great phrasing and emotion there.  Very nice.  I wish you all the luck in the world with this….your dedication, attention to details. and your professionalism shine thru!  I’m sure it’ll do well for you. 

 Best regards, 

Tom

R.O.P.E. NEWSLETTER 

Marty Martel, President of Reunion of Professional Entertainers (R.O.P.E.)    June 09, 2010 

R.O.P.E. Spectacular Show on Wed, June 9th, 2010: 

“When we first started to put the show together I received an email from a young lady who I have known for several years. I knew she was a great singer, but never had the opportunity to really watch her perform until last night. Keith Bilbrey knew her also, and when she was introduced she came onstage in a beautiful outfit of Red and Silver and rhinestones. She hit the stage and took the audience in the palm of her hand and they loved her and her great performance. Instead of only doing her music, she had invited recording artist James Intveld to sing on her part of the show. To say that we were being treated by two great artists would be the understatement of the evening. James performed one song, but he is super, and together Tracey and James made it worth waiting for them to be on the show. Tracey should have been on a major record label a long time ago. She is country and she takes pride in her music. Go to her website, get her music and do the same for James. What a great shot in the arm they were for our show, and if you want to know the meaning of being professional, then it will start with Tracey K. Houston and James Intveld.”

COUNTRY JUKEBOX - JUKEBOX WORLD REVIEW 

Max W. Achatz    August 18, 2009 

REVIEWING "JUST THE WAY I AM" ALBUM 

COUNTRY JUKEBOX - JUKEBOX WORLD REVIEW as featured on www.countryjukebox.de 

(added 8/18/09) 

 Auch wenn die traditionelle Country Music auf den Playlisten der meisten US-amerikanischen Radiostationen längst ein Schattendasein führt bzw. schon gänzlich daraus verschwunden ist, hat sie ihren Platz in den Herzen der Country Music-Liebhaber noch lange nicht verloren. 

 Eine Künstlerin, die sich voll und ganz dem unverfälschten „Classic Country“ verschrieben hat, ist die im Westen Kanadas geborene, mit der Plattensammlung ihrer Mutter aus den 50ern und 60ern aufgewachsenen und seit Jahren in Nashville, Tennessee beheimatete Sängerin TRACEY K. HOUSTON. 

 Ihre aktuelle Albumeinspielung, Just The Way I Am, stammt zwar bereits aus dem vergangenen Jahr, doch gäbe es diese Scheibe mit den zwölf wunderbaren, an die Glanzzeiten so bekannter Country-Stars wie Loretta Lynn, Connie Smith, Jean Shepard und Tammy Wynette erinnernden Songjuwelen nicht, das Leben so manches Country Music-Puristen wäre um einiges trister. 

 Das ihr die echte Country Music ein echtes Anliegen ist, beweist Houston, die für die wunderschöne Neuauflage des Top 5-Hits „I Heard The Bluebirds Sing“ von den Browns aus dem Jahr 1957 die Grand Ole Opry-Legende Jim Ed Brown als Duettpartner gewinnen konnte, mit dem „Let’s Put The Country Back In Country Music“ betitelten Album-Opener. 

 Ein Motto, dem die talentierte Sängerin bereits ihr ganzes Leben singend und handelnd folgt und mit dem sie sich nur zu gerne – Veranstalter, Konzertagenturen und Inhaber von Country-Lokalitäten aufgepasst – auch wieder einmal vor europäischen Country Music-Fans präsentieren möchte. 

English Translation using Dictionary.com Translator: 

Although the traditional country music on the playlists of most U.S. radio stations have long lead a shadowy existence, or has it disappeared completely, it has its place in the hearts of country music fans is not lost. 

An artist who fully endorse the undistorted "Classic Country" has prescribed, the Canadian-born in the West, with the record collection of her mother from the 50s and 60s for years and grew up in Nashville, Tennessee-based singer TRACEY K. HOUSTON. 

Your current album recording, Just The Way I Am, dates already from last year, but there would be this disc with the twelve wonderful, to the heyday so famous country stars like Loretta Lynn, Connie Smith, Jean Shepard, and Tammy Wynette song reminding Juwelen not, the lives of so many country music purists would be a lot more shape. 

That it the real country music is a real concern, Houston demonstrates, for the beautiful new edition of the Top 5 hits "I Heard The Bluebirds Sing" by the Browns in 1957, the Grand Ole Opry Legend Jim Ed Brown as a duet partner won with the "Let's Put The Country Back In Country Music" album titled opener. 

A slogan, which the talented singer is already singing her whole life and acting, and follows with which they are only too happy - Organizer, concert agencies and owners of Country-out venues - including once before the European Country Music fans would like to present.

Max W. Achatz 
COUNTRY JUKEBOX 
Theodor-Dombart-Straße 5 
80805 Munich 
Germany 

achatz@countryjukebox.de 
www.countryjukebox.de

WESTERN REVIEW, DRAYTON VALLEY, ALBERTA, CANADA 

Craig Palmer    July 08, 2009 

Houston rocks it to the Max 

CRAIG PALMER - WESTERN REVIEW, DRAYTON VALLEY, ALBERTA, CANADA 

July 8, 2009 

Former Drayton Valley resident and country singer Tracey K. Houston played a stunning show at the MAX Centre last Monday (June 29th, 2009).   Houston, who spent junior high and most of high school in Drayton Valley, made her way back to Drayton Valley for the first time in over 20 years. 

Houston’s vocals were spot-on for her entire performance, despite her claims that the dry air was having a negative effect on her voice.  Between each song, Houston would spray her throat with a “singer’s secret” to help counteract the dryness. 

For most songs, Houston would explain to the crowd what each song meant to her, emphasizing when a song was written by a Canadian.  “Yes, I’m very proud of my heritage,” said Houston, who is now based out of Nashville, Tennessee. 

Houston said it was surreal to be playing a show in her old high school, but she was still very happy to do so.  “It felt great,” said Houston. “It was very sobering to come back to a nearly sold out show in my hometown and know that they were here to see me.” 

Houston also brought along her friend and fellow country star James Intveld, who says he was glad Houston brought him along.  “I would never have played in Drayton Valley otherwise,” said Intveld while on stage, commenting on his first time touring Canada. 

Intveld, who has an impressive career in both music and film, played a range of songs spanning his career, including a song he had written for Johnny Cash to perform. 

Both Houston and Intveld’s performances left little to be desired, having been complete in both stage presence and sound. 

After the show, both groups were mingling with fans, signing autographs and having their photos taken. 

The duo continued their tour playing Calgary on Tuesday and Kamloops, British Columbia on Wednesday.

THE BRIDGEWORKS 

"Uncle William" (Bill Littleton)    April 02, 2009 

An Evening Of  Country Music Magic 

by "Uncle William" (Bill Littleton) - The Bridgeworks -  April 2009 

Please know that nobody was fooling anybody April 1 as a sizeable gathering of entertainers entertained a sizeable gathering of fans, all for the purpose of helping defray medical costs for the late Ernie Ashworth and cancer survivor Ray Griff. Tracey K. Houston put the event together with help from David McCormick and others. 

The highlights swooped in like bats chasing skeeters on a hot night, so we'll try to focus on everybody getting credited, although that may be a stretch of my capabilities. First act was Jesse McReynolds and The Virginia Boys, a troupe at this point consisting of two of Jesse's grandsons and two neighbors, which is homegrown, I would think. Jesse's comment that he and his brother had played lots of kinds of music over the years, "so maybe I'm still trying to figure out what to do when I grow up" is especially pertinent knowing he sees his 80th birthday this year!! 

Stu Phillips did a couple of pretty songs in his inimitable fashion and also served as emcee for the whole event, appropriately discussing the situation at hand. And he shared some of his pulpit humor. Funny stuff. 

Next, Jack Greene came out, needing a bit of help to navigate but whalloping "Statue Of A Fool" with the power of past decades. A quick band change was made for James Intveld, whose rockabilly sensibilities were dowsed with the propane power of Chris Scruggs on steel guitar!! Whew!!! Also with James were guitarist Eddie Perez, drummer Mark Horn, and Mark Miller on bass. 

Another change brought Lonzo and Oscar on for some genuine country basics, with a focus on a full duet of "I'm My Own Grandpa" and a rousing "Old Country Church." Tracey's band, consisting of Bill Poe on steel, Chris Casello on lead guitar, Jim Hunt on drums, Scott Icenogle on upright bass, and Adolfo Mayo on piano, came on and backed Jim Ed Brown with a fun reading of "Pop A Top," followed by Tracey coming out for a duet with Jim Ed on "I Heard The Bluebirds Sing." 

Tracey then sang a Ray Griff song that Jean Shepard recorded, "It's The Wine That's Talking," after which she brought Troy Cook, Jr. out for a duet on the old Ernest Tubb/Loretta Lynn song "Our Hearts Are Holding Hands." 

Then Crystal Gayle, performing with Tracey's staff band and her pianist, Will Barrow, created yet another texture of the wonderful country music tapestry, followed by Stonewall Jackson, one of the indisputable characters and unique interpreters, working with Robert Allen on harmonica and Stonewall, Jr. on drums plus the staff band. 

Okay, then the show cranked up another notch as Stu introduced David Ball, whose recordings I've heard but whose live show had missed me. Wow! The unit is David on a lot of rhythm guitar, Troy Cook, Jr. playing a WHOLE lot of lead guitar and doing Johnny Paycheck calibre harmonies, Bill Cook (no relation, I understand) on bass, with a drummer whose name did not register in my notes in the dark! Honoring basics by opening with "Pick Me Up On Your Way Down," followed by his own "Thinking Problem," David exemplifies that some seriously real country music has made today's playlists and he should be with us as long as he chooses. Thanks Tracey and David McCormick for a wonderful evening.

CD BABY REVIEWS - JUST THE WAY I AM 

Richard in New Orleans    July 31, 2008 

Just The Way I Am 

Tracey, your new CD (Just the Way I Am) is terrific! It's wonderful! I've listened to it several times and just can't get enough of it. 

I especially like the Marshall Dillon and Miss Kitty parody...that was a nice surprise! :-) 

One of the songs, which I also like, is titled "You Did Everything Right". Tracey, that could just as well be the title of the CD, because you did do everything right on it! 

Congratulations on the CD. It really IS a great CD! 

Richard in New Orleans

CD BABY REVIEWS - JUST THE WAY I AM 

Jose M. Cuenca    July 31, 2008 

What a wonderful cd this one by TRACEY K. HOUSTON, I already knew Tracey in two former albums, but this one is even better, more traditional Country sounds, great producer and fine musicians. My favorite song is WHO´S THE NEW LOVE and THE BROWNS´ cover I HEARD THE BLUEBIRDS SING with the legendary JIM ED BROWN and TRACEY singing this nice song. If you love real COUNTRY MUSIC get this album quickly. 

JOSE, Madrid (Spain)

AMAZON.COM 

Peter Durward Harris    June 06, 2008 

Peter Durward Harris 

HALL OF FAME 

5.0 out of 5 stars Independent traditional country of the highest quality 

June 6, 2008 

Format: Audio CD 

For those who are alarmed at the direction in which American country music radio stations have headed in recent years, independent labels have taken on an importance that is perhps greater than ever. With major labels virtually giving up on such music, the independents can take on traditional country singers knowing that there is a ready market for their music. 

Following the release of Falling for You (1997), this album was Tracey's second full-length album and was originally released in 2000. Since then, Tracey has released a tribute album, Salute to Loretta Lynn, focusing on the early part of Loretta's career. Tracey's fourth album, Just the way I am, is coming soon. 

According to Tracey's website, seven different tracks from this album were released as singles around the world, which is quite achievement in itself, but also points to the consistent quality of the album as a whole. As far as I know, all the songs here are originals, with two of them (Lonesome, Middle of the bed) by noted songwriter Ray Griff. Picking out favorites from such a high quality album is an impossibility, so I won't try. 

At the time this album was recorded, Tracey K Houston earned her living as a truck driver, following her musical dreams in between her day job. I notice that while there was a time when Tracey was happy to emphasize her truck driving, her website no longer mentions it (though biographies elsewhere still do) so maybe she's now able to focus fully on her music. Tracey's music is firmly rooted in the country music of the sixties, which Tracey first heard by listening to her mother's record collection. Most people eventually forsake their parents' music for the music of their own generation, but not so Tracey, whose uncompromising style will delight those who enjoy top quality singing backed by the sound of fiddle and steel guitar. Actually, Tracey admits to deviating from the True Path on one track, the bluesy Hot steamy night in Dixie. While this is a little different from the rest of the album, it's not different enough to worry about. You could say that it is traditional country music without the fiddles and steel, but it's a great song and we must remember that steel guitars only became part of country music when Webb Pierce started using one on his records in the fifties. 

I listen to many diverse styles and sounds as anybody who follows my reviews knows, but traditional country music, when performed at its best as it is here, does something for me that no other music does. If you love the sound of fiddles and steel guitars supporting top-quality singers, you should support Tracey K Houston and others like her.

COUNTRY MUSIC NEWS 

Larry Delaney    April 02, 2007 

CD Review - TRACEY K. HOUSTON - Salute To Loretta Lynn 
From Country Music News - April 2007 (by Larry Delaney) 

TRACEY K. HOUSTON 
Salute To Loretta Lynn 
Songbird – SBCD 07-01 
Produced by: Jamie Haage 
(10 Selections – Playing Time 25:02) 
I’m A Honky Tonk Girl / Whispering Sea / Success / Before I’m Over You / Our Hearts Are Holding Hands / Dear Uncle Sam / Talkin’ To The Wall / If Loneliness Can Kill Me / L-O-V-E, Love / Wings Upon Your Horns. 

Canadian-born singer Tracey K. Houston has been making Nashville her home base for the past decade or so, and in recent years has found a special niche performing her Loretta Lynn tribute show – “Hey Loretta, The Girl From Butcher Holler”. In support of the live stage show, Tracey K. Houston now follows-up with this ten-song recording of early career Loretta Lynn hits and album cuts. Houston is especially effective here, with an authentic sound that has many vocal inflections that come very close to the ‘real’ Loretta Lynn. 

Tracey K. Houston pays careful attention in covering the early years (basically the 1960’s) of Loretta Lynn’s music catalog – opening this tribute with her breakthrough debut I’m A Honky Tonk Girl,which peaked at #14 in 1960 for Loretta Lynn. Other familiar hits featured here include Success (#6 / 1962); Before I’m Over You (#4 / 1963); Dear Uncle Sam (#4 / 1966), Wings Upon Your Horns (#11 / 1969), etc. 

A special feature on the songlist is the tune Our Hearts Are Holding Hands, which was originally done as a duet by Loretta Lynn with Ernest Tubb (#24 / 1965); and Tracey K. Houston calls upon rising star Troy Cook Jr. as the male counterpart on this stirring rendition. 

Salute To Loretta Lynn was produced in Branson, Missouri studios by Jamie Haage, who incredibly is credited with playing every instrument featured in the session… busy guy, this Jamie. 

Although it has no bearing on the ultimate song selection for this tribute album, being Canadian-born, it would have been neat for Tracey K. Houston to have included three songs recorded by Loretta Lynn that were written by Canadian songwriters – Are You Mine, the Lynn/Tubb duet was co-written by Canadians Myrna Lorrie and Don Grashey; the song Happy Birthday (# 3 / 1964) was written by Canuck DJ Ron Kitson, while Loretta Lynn also recorded a gutsy rendition of the Ray Griff-penned classic, The Morning After Baby Let Me Down… all of which hopefully, might be included on a Vol. 2 Salute To Loretta Lynn by Tracey K. Houston.

CD BABY REVIEWS - SALUTE TO LORETTA LYNN 

Dan Szatkowski    March 14, 2007 

Great tribute to a great singer!!! 
Reviewer: Dan Szatkowski 
Tracey is Loretta reincarnated. She steps in her shoes and does a fantastic job. Hope you do a sequel. 

(Mar 14, 2007)

CD BABY REVIEWS - SALUTE TO LORETTA LYNN 

Randall Watters    February 28, 2007 

GREAT VOICE! 
Reviewer: Randall Watters 
An excellent tribute to Loretta, one of the best country singers ever!  Love it Tracey! 

(Feb 28, 2007)

The Friends of Tracey K Houston Club!

Friends of Tracey K Houston